East Yorkshire Area Hill Climbs: Trundlegate

Location: Trundlegate
Length: 0.9km
Height Gain: 75m
Average Gradient: 8%
Max. Gradient: 13%
Difficulty Score: 40
Table Position: =16th

Date of Attempt: 28th June 2012

20130503-194656.jpg
Trundlegate holds a special place in my heart, it’s the first proper hill I’d ever tried to climb on my road bike and I had three attempts before finally achieving my goal.

The hill is located in South Newbald and the road approaches the same ridge as North Newbald Hill. The climb begins at the sign post for Trundlegate and initially the narrow country road isn’t very steep at all, this all changes as you round the shallow left hand corner, where the task ahead is laid bare. Roughly 50m ahead the road steeply ramps up, at it’s steepest point it manages a 13% gradient, the climb continues for around another 100m before a nasty little banked corner. The corner, as ever, is the steepest point, however once around it the road continues at around 10% for a good 200m, before levelling off slightly as it gradually reaches its peak, so only a short climb, but you’ve got to watch the little ones!

Back in June last year I made a third attempt at conquering this hill, I must admit that as a beginner I was intimidated and my first two attempts ended miserably, but here is the passage taken from my ‘Push Hog Diaries’ blog post ‘Cumbrian EPO’…

We sat in the sunshine and I did my best to build up the shear scale of the Trundlegate challenge. I suggested that the people sat outside the Tiger Inn weren’t staring at us because Marvin looked like a member of The Village People, instead it was because they knew what we were about to face. I guess by the time I’d finished, the task in front of us was akin to climbing the north face of the eiger…on a bike!

I also suggested that we might need something to help us along, you know, a pick me up, and I’m not even ashamed of what I produced from my back pocket, but it won’t be the last time I use Cumbrian EPO (or Kendal Mint Cake just incase the UCI are reading this!) We broke off a couple of cubes, scoffed them down and off we set towards South Newbald, doped up.

20120701-005306.jpg
I purposefully rode at the back of our two man peloton, just to gauge Marvin’s reaction, which was more of surprise than anything else, a bit like my own when I first saw the hill. After rounding the corner, the climb begins and we both began in first gear to give the best chance of archiving our goal.

I was absolutely convinced that if I was ever going to get over this hill then today was the day, perfect conditions with a very slight tail wind. I began steady, keeping my breathing under control, trying not to run out of steam like in my previous attempts.

Before long we were past the farm house at the bottom of the hill and about to tackle the steepest part of the climb at around 13%, still managing my breathing I pushed forward, gaining in confidence the further up the hill I got. Towards the middle of the tough first section Marvin begins to snake from side to side, but I aim straight ahead for the right hand turn.

Once at the turn, almost as far as I have managed to date, I’m feeling good, the climb begins to get steadier and I now know I’ve made it, my breathing is normal and I have no intention of stopping now. The next 500 yards are still a slog but before long I’m going up the gears and the climb is finished, we both made it, I’m so chuffed its a monkey off my back, with a little help from my friend and a bit of sugary doping.

Trundlegate is a tiny pig of a climb, nicknamed locally as ‘The Devils Chimney’, it’s never easy on the legs and is a fantastic hill for training, especially if planning on tackling some of East Yorkshire’s more difficult climbs.

For notifications of new blogs and updates follow @sensisuperstar on Twitter and/or join the email list.

This entry was posted in Cycling, East Yorkshire Area Hill Climbs and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to East Yorkshire Area Hill Climbs: Trundlegate

  1. Richard Graves says:

    Good on you, I fancy a crack at this one, you have inspired me to have ago!

  2. Chris says:

    I’ve tried this twice, not done it without a stop before – I’m a rubbish climber!-but going back for a third go tomorrow afternoon.

    • Good luck Chris and keep trying, it took me a few goes too, even now I find it a tough climb and I know I’m not the only one.

      As for climbing in general, I have found that it is never easy, but you will get stronger with more practice.

      Once you’ve conquered Trundlegate, give some of the other East Yorkshire Hills a try, Brantingham Dale is a nice steady climb.

  3. Chris says:

    So, 9 months on from my post of 7th November and Trudlegate isn’t even difficult now, it’s on one of my regular routes and although never easy there’s never any danger of me stopping. I’m still not a great climber- I’m avoiding Hanging Grimston!- but for anyone struggling with Trundlegate, just keep going back, doing it without stopping felt for me as pivotal a moment as my first 100k ride.

    • Great news Chris, thanks for the update, it is amazing how some climbs tend to flatten out with more miles in your legs!

      I had a cycle up to Thixendale a few months back, taking in Hanging Grimston, which wasn’t as bad as I thought considering it is statistically the hardest hill in the area. I’ve done some big miles this year, so keep an eye out on my hill climbing blogs over the winter, as there are some real nasty climbs not too far away!

      Good to hear that you’ve done a 100km ride too, that was a big challenge for me as I struggle with cramp on longer rides.

      All the best!

Leave a Reply

