The Push Hog Legacy: Stage 3 – On The Road to Nowhere

I’m a creature of habit, no doubt about it, and due to an aversion to change, the majority of the times I go out on my bike I end up doing the same or similar training routes. Friday 3rd August was different, it was a beautiful summer evening, sunny & warm with a slight cooling breeze, so I went out for a bike ride to discover a new route.

As usual I started my ride in the market town on Beverley in East Yorkshire, only this time I headed through the town centre along New Walkergate, before joining Railway Street, a road which leads into Lord Roberts Road, a section of the East Yorkshire Classic Criterium Circuit. Having watched the professionals take the right hand corner at the Magistrates Court at high speed, I didn’t quite fancy my chances so slowing down I made a very tentative turn before leaving the circuit and heading past the library on Champney Road.

Having successfully negotiated the town centre I take a left hand turn and begin the journey to the outskirts of Beverley on Admiral Walker Road, a popular A-road, but not one I’ll be staying on for too long. As I approach a double mini roundabout, I cycle up hill along Cartwright Lane, towards Beverley Westwood.

It’s only a short ride before I approach the pasture as I cycle up Keldgate Road towards Beverley Golf Club, passing the bovine residents of the common land as I toil on the steady climb, made more difficult than it should be by the rough road surface. Once at the top of the climb, I cruise past the tee for the 18th hole, a short par 3, and cross a cattle grid before joining Walkington Road.

Continuing my ride, I cycle toward the village of Walkington, now on Broadgate, which takes me to the junction with Coppleflats Lane. Moving across the junction I travel through Walkington along East End, negotiating the numerous speed bumps and humps. Once out of the village I make a left turn onto Townend Road, a short sharp climb which summits at the right hand corner with Little Weighton Road.

Before long the road drops into a shallow valley before I make a right at the junction towards the bottom and turn onto Bluestone Bottoms, a long climb of roughly two miles which gradually gets steeper the higher I climb. As the road joins Common Lane, the climb peaks at the junction with White Gap Lane, where I take a right hand turn and continue along the undulating road.

20120913-192223.jpg
As I approach High Hunsley, now cycling along Brick Dike Lane, the road begins to rise as I stop at the junction with The Avenue, a busy road linking Beverley to the M62 and a dangerous crossroads at the best of times. I decide that I deserve a rest, so crossing the road I begin the descent of Burgate Hill, which strangely doesn’t seem so steep on the way down, until the approach to North Newbald. As I gather momentum, by the time I round a shallow left corner, and the road drops in front of me as reach the steepest part, at this point I’m travelling well over 35mph. I hold onto the drops and race into the village, pulling on the brakes early as I approach the junction with The Green, a good job as I might have ended up in the pub otherwise!

Now in North Newbald I’m in an unusual situation, as usually I approach the village from the north and make the climb up Burgate or Trundlegate, but as I dislike doubling back on myself I decide to head back toward Beverley on the rural back roads. I cycle along Beverley Road and out of the village, before making a left hand turn onto Stoneknowle Hill, a new climb to me and a Strava challenge it turns out. The hill is roughly two miles long and begins with a typically steep ramp, before levelling off and undulating before a flat finish towards the busy A1079 York Road.

At the bottom of the climb I begin in quite a high gear, as my cycling has improved so has my confidence, so I attack the climb. Before long I’m over the toughest section and find myself cycling past a new wind farm development, the shear scale of those engineering monoliths is quite amazing almost enough to make me stop and admire…almost. I continue on with my journey and around fifteen minutes later I’m out of my clips at the junction with the A1079 wondering where to ride next, this is new territory for me and my bike.

20120913-192341.jpg
Waiting for a gap in the busy road seemed to take an age, then I found myself in a high gear, a school boy error, therefore crawling across the carriageway I joined the descent into the hamlet of Gardham. Having never ridden the road I kept it sensible and cruised downhill, past the houses at the bottom of the descent and onto the flat Gardham Road leading toward the village of Etton.

Cycling into Etton my route joined the latter stages of the Big G/ Mini G, as I continued into the village of Cherry Burton and finally ending my ride in Molescroft having cycled a total of 22 miles, a ride I have thoroughly enjoyed and will certainly try again.

20120913-192435.jpg

20120914-201902.jpg

Total Distance Covered: 58 miles

For notifications of new blogs and updates follow @sensisuperstar on Twitter.

Back le Bid to bring the Tour de France to Yorkshire

This entry was posted in Cycling, The Push Hog Legacy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

