The Push Hog Diaries: Stage 1 – The Long & Winding Road

It’s early March 2012 and I am training for my local 10km running race, the Beverley 10k, I’m not very fit so it gives me something to aim for. My training currently consists of 3 miles on my mountain bike followed by 1 mile running once or twice a week. It’s a start and something I’ll build upon.

I also have in the back of my mind that I’ve put myself forward for the 60km Big G Cyclosportive in late July, it could have been much worse, the same event has the option of 100km or 160km! The trouble is that I don’t have the right equipment, so I’ve decided that if I’m going to do it then I’m going to do it properly. So I’m saving up for a road bike, nothing too fancy, after all I might not enjoy it, but if I do cycling will become my new hobby, as I’m getting a bit too old for football and injuries are taking too long to heal.

Having done a bit of research and asked a few people I know who have done this kind if thing before, I have come up with the following criteria for choosing a bike:

1. Beginners Bike: I’m open to 2nd hand road bike or a decent hybrid, but ideally a new road bike. I don’t need anything too fancy, something simple that I can maintain myself, with inexpensive components.

2. Aluminium: Two reasons, firstly price, secondly, I’m a rubbish bike wrangler so if I fell off a carbon bike (or god forbid a bamboo bike) I’d snap it in two, so not worth the expense or risk.

3. Decent Group Set: Preferably Shimano for maintenance cost and Tiagra at least, ideally Ultegra (I wish), both shifters on the brakes, so Sora is out of the running.

4. Cost: The lower the better although I conscious that this affects quality, I’ve set a strict budget in my head and I’m determined that I won’t break it.

Let’s see how I get on…

Distance Covered: 0 miles

For notifications of new blogs and updates follow @sensisuperstar on Twitter.

Back le Bid to bring the Tour de France to Yorkshire

This entry was posted in Cycling, The Push Hog Diaries and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

